top of page
  • Writer's pictureOlivia Saliba Cauchi

The Boredom Jar

This year I decided that the kids were staying at home with me, no Summer school. The thing is I still have Aimee, so to take them I would have to wake her up and sometimes also wake her up in the afternoon from her nap. So, I started looking at ideas of how to pass the time, at the same time making it exciting.

I saw the boredom jar and I was very intrigued. So I read how to make it and yesterday I did it.

I cut small pieces of cardboard and made a list of things I want them to do. Of course I had to invent my own, what my kids love. Coz I didn't like the things the others wrote. But I had an idea of what I wanted to write.

First of all I counted the number of days, which are 50 (excluding weekends and public holidays).

Secondly I chose 10 activities from the following 5 topics:

1. Baking - orange

2. Art - green

3. Being creative - purple

4. Playing - white

5. Educational - pink

Now we are going to choose a different colour everyday. I couldn't have had 5 outings per week, or 5 cooking activities per week. So this colour coding will solve that problem.

These are the activities I chose:

1. Baking

bake a cake

make jelly

make ice-cream

do an apple crumble

do a cheesecake

do a trifle

make a pizza

cook biscuits

cook cupcakes

bake a cake

2. Art

paint a flamingo

paint a dog

paint Chloe

paint a sunflower

paint an owl

paint a flamingo

paint a dog

paint Chloe

paint a sunflower

paint an owl

3. Being creative/going places

do a blocks construction

do an experiment

make fingerprint animals

make some birthday cards

make origami

do a craft

go to a museum

go to a museum

go to the library

make an obstacle course

4. Playing

organise Aimee`s clothes - play shop

play supermarket

play a board game

play monopoly

play the piano(song of your choice)

wash the terrace - play mummy

play restaurant

wash the washroom - play mummy

play with Playmobil

rehearse a monologue - play actress

5. Educational

learn Italian

learn Italian

learn Italian

write about your family 250 words

research about The Rivers

learn about bones in the human body

read a book of your choice

research about the Roman Domus

research about how the eye works

research about the digestive system

We put them in a jar. Now I know I don't have to think of something to do everyday and I won't feel guilty when we are at home in the morning and I am doing my thing!

We are doing the first one today. Wish us luck......

251 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page