top of page
  • Writer's pictureOlivia Saliba Cauchi

Taking the kids swim on my own

The minute I got to know I was pregnant with Aimee, I started asking myself so many questions about my future. For example one of them was, how are we gonna fit in the kitchen when the kids are older? We only have 8 chairs!


Another question I asked myself and that I was worrying about was: How am I going to manage going to the beach with three, two of which are very young?


So that day has arrived. We have been to days at the beach with my hubby already, but I hadn't been on my own yet with the three of them. I was panicking more before we left then when we were there.




I had to organise everything before. I did a bag with the sunblock, shampoo, conditioner, goggles, underwear, hats, clothes. Another bag with towels, water and beach toys. Then my small bag with purse, mobile, wipes, nappies, baby food and spoon. As you can see I only took the bare minimum.



Before we left, I put the sunblock on all of them, including myself, they had the swimsuit on already, and I fed them well before we went. I had all the bags ready, we were ready. Perfect! Baby started crying, a lot and a lot. Trying to calm her down took me an hour. Then as she was calm I decided to rush out of the house. Of course it was too good to be true, leaving the house without forgetting something. As I closed the front door, I remembered my car key and house key were inside. So we were locked outside. Luckily we got the spare key and got them.


We left the house an hour and a half after I decided to start getting ready! But we left. We got there and I parked under a tree, where I knew the car was gonna be full of bird droppings. But who cared at that moment, it was the closest spot to the entrance. We got all the stuff out of the car. Having the pushchair helps coz I put everything in it. Jaimee helps too with carrying stuff.









While we were there, I felt so relaxed. Meeting loads of friends from last year, Sam was good. He jumped, he got up, he jumped, he got up, repeat, repeat, repeat. Aimee, who cried all day, was so happy in the water, splashing and laughing, seeing her brother and sister underwater. We were there from 4.30 pm till 8pm.








When I needed to breastfeed Aimee, I was putting Sam in the pushchair buckled up, so he won't run away.


I can't believe it, I did it! Well done to all the mums who manage difficult things. You can do it too, of course better than me.

96 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page