top of page
  • Writer's pictureOlivia Saliba Cauchi

Playgrounds - Mriehel

When I heard that there is a new playground in Mriehel, opposite Farsons, I had very low expectations.


We were shopping in B'Kara one Saturday afternoon and decided to take the kids to Ta' Qali, before the playground my mum mentioned to me came to mind. So we decided to go and check it out. We didn't have a lot of time and I regret it.



We couldn't find it. I thought the entrance was from a side when it was from the other. It was very quiet at the playground, but we still couldn't find parking. So it started off on a bad note. We entered a gate which was left open. Having a kid that likes to run away, I hate seeing gates open. But in this case, we had to walk much more to reach the actual playground. There are gardens and a lot of wooden tables with chairs. You can picnic there too.


The layout is long and narrow, but who designed it did a good job. What I didn't like was a lot of soil and although there is a dog park making part of it on the side, people still manage to make their dogs do their needs in the soil there. There was only a little, but I just avoided that the kids walked on the soil.


There are a lot of gates along the way, so we could have come in from various parts of the garden. I didn't like the gates over the main road that is in front of Farsons, by the aqueducts. That is very busy. But they seem to be closed most of the time. Even the others leading to the quiet area.


Someone even told me that in some areas, toddlers can pass underneath the fence. Mine couldn't but I would watch out just in case.



There are quite a good number of trees, so for the summer it will be great if we go a bit early and the sun is still out. It will be very shady.




There is also a rubber passage for runners, at least that's what I think it is. There seems to be enough light for the evening too.


So, let's start seeing what activities the kids can do.


This was very good for Sam. Seems that the equipment is of a very good quality.

The merry go round is wheelchair friendly too. I love these that are flat to the ground, coz I am always afraid they will fall and get stuck in the gap.

Jaimee loved this see saw as she said we could all fit on it and so we did. I held Aimee and Frederick held Sam. There is nothing for the babies, not even a baby swing.


What a lovely idea. This is a pole to throw a ball. Next time we go there I will take a ball with me. Obviously for Jaimee and I not for Sam as the pole is very high.


You roll this with your feet. You're walking in the same place.

There are also two traditional swings.

Along the way there is some gym equipment. The rower and the bicycle.

The area is clean and very safe. It's a nice place to go for an hour or two, with some food and a ball. Both kids loved it and so did I!

617 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page