top of page
  • Writer's pictureOlivia Saliba Cauchi

Goodnight little guy - Sam in his bedroom

I can't believe I am the one writing about this. I am the worst at this subject. Jaimee slept in our bed until she was nearly 6 years old, right before Sam came. Before that, she left, came back, left, came back........


Sam was out very early, coz once bitten twice shy. So at 6 months, I got his cot and put it next to Jaimee's bed in her bedroom. It worked he started sleeping the night next to her. But then he started getting up at night and he was waking Jaimee up. So we put him in his own bedroom. The problem is he was very scared on his own and was having nightmares. He got up so many times at night and for so long that one day I just gave up and got the cot back to our bedroom, knowing Aimee was on the way, at least he wasn't with us in our bed.


So, after Aimee started rockin' and a rollin' in our bed, I decided it was time for Sam to leave the room again, and to be transferred to a big bed, and Aimee will get the cot.


But Sam didn't sleep in the big bed, he could get out of it very easily. So, I was putting him to bed and after a while I see him next to me again. He was too excited about this big boy bed. I thought he wasn't ready so I had a playpen and put that in his bedroom. It's very deep so he can't get out of it.





The night I decided I would do the transfer I did the following:


I did a really comfy blanket underneath

I put on some night lamps so the room won't be pitch dark

I drew the curtains, since when he had the nightmares he used to point to the door



I made sure it was the perfect temperature in his bedroom

I also made sure he was super tired, he was in bed at 9.30pm

I switched on the fishes in the sea lights in his room. It's the blue round thing that lights and on the wall you have reflection of water and goldfish moving around


This moves around. It is so relaxing and makes me go to sleep too.


This thing also has relaxing soft music

I gave him his bottle of warm milk

I stayed near him until he slept, I didn't leave the room while he was awake

While standing or laying next to him in the playpen (yes the first time I literally went in it), I talked to him with a very soft voice. I told him what a nice day we had, what we did, how much I love him......

When he was fast asleep I left

Goodnight my friend and Hasta Leugo baby!!



This will not work with everyone. It wouldn't have worked with Jaimee for example. But worth a try to see what works for each kid. Good luck to all you readers going through it, I feel your pain.

111 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page